Announcing a call for proposals to the Lectures & Forums Committee for Spring 2021 programming:

Since March 2020 a great deal has changed in our world and community--widespread shutdowns, job losses, and increasing awareness of the many inequities and injustices that exist within our society. COVID-19 has altered the way we teach, research, live, and interact with friends and loved ones. During these difficult times, Temple’s own community of North Philadelphia has been particularly hard hit. In recognition of these extraordinary times and circumstances, the Faculty Senate Lectures and Forums Committee invites proposals from disciplines and the university for speakers who can address the theme Here and Now: Learning, Teaching, Equity, and Justice in Our Community.

Those interested should fill out the short application form here. The committee will select up to 10 speakers to receive a $500 honorarium. Events should be made accessible to the entire university community via Zoom. While we encourage those hosting these events to record presentations to increase accessibility, this is not a requirement and will not affect the committee’s decision. For consideration, applications must be received by February 22. Proposers will be notified of the committee’s decision by March 1.

Any questions can be directed to Sarah Cordes at sarah.cordes@temple.edu.

(If you would like to file for a grant from the Lectures and Forums Committee please enter your information on this form)

Chair

Sarah Cordes

Members

Quaiser Abdullah, KMC, 1-6808, quaiser.abdullah@temple.edu, '24**

John Allgood, STHM, 1-4503, john.allgood@temple.edu, '22

Nathan Buonviri, BCMD, 1-8328, nathan.buonviri@temple.edu, '22**

Sarah Cordes, COE., 1-6332, sarah.cordes@temple.edu, '21**

Kathryn Fritz, CPH, kathryn.fritz@temple.edu, '23

Tricia Jones, KMC, 1-7540, tricia.jones@temple.edu, '21

Sharyn O'Mara, TYL, 8-9168, sharyn.omara@temple.edu, '24**

Tim Patterson, COE., 1-2797, timothy.patterson@temple.edu, '21**

Daniela Proca, LKSM, 2-4812, daniela.proca@temple.edu, '24

**= serving 2nd consecutive term

***= serving 3rd consecutive term

(Updated March 25, 2021)

 

Charge

To allocate annually the budget for University-wide lectures and forums and shall advise the Provost on these matters. To administer the budget allocated to the committee for departmental, school and agency allocations, as well as for the committee's own program, and those programs of merit proposed during the course of the year. To set an annual theme for programs. To consider all proposals submitted by faculty, deans, department chairpersons, institute heads and student organizations leaders.

The Committee's modest budget is intended to assist departments and programs bring quality speakers to the university who can address issues of interest to a broad intellectual community. The Committee must discourage presentations that are unlikely to elicit a wide range of interest in at least several disciplines.

Composition

8 Faculty appointed by the FSSC

Workload

12-45 hours per year. Heaviest workload occurs in the Fall semester when proposals must be read.