Faculty Senate Steering Committee Meeting Tuesday, November 9, 2021– 1:00-3:00 PM Minutes

Attendance:

Present: Kimmika Williams-Witherspoon (Pres., TFMA), Lisa Ferretti (V. President, SSW), Ashley Stewart (Secy., SSW), Rafael Porrata-Doria (Past-Pres., Law), Shohreh Amini (CST), Cheri Carter (SSW), Erin Coyle (KMC *Alternate*), Jason Gallagher (Pharm), Dale Haines (LKSM), Robin Kolodny (CLA), Barry McCarthy (Law), Sharyn O'Mara (TYL), Vallorie Peridier (Engr), Rick Ridall (STHM), Michael Schirmer (FSB), Jeffrey Solow (BCMD), Ryan Tierney (CPH), Cheryl Mack (Coord.)

Absent: Quaiser Abdullah (KMC), Maia Cucchiara (CEHD), Shinya B. Watanabe (TUJ)

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 1:03 PM. The President welcomed the Faculty Senate Steering Committee.

2. Approval of Minutes of October 5th and 19th, 2021

The minutes from the October 5th and October 19, 2021 meeting were distributed prior to this meeting. The President called for any addition, changes, or comments. There were none and a motion was made to accept the minutes as distributed. The motion was seconded and after a vote the motion was carried, and the minutes were accepted for the record.

3. President's Report: Kimmika Williams-Witherspoon

Item 1: Review of the SFS deadline- the deadline was extended to the end of the semester

Item 2: Review of the funding process for the Lecture and Forums Committee, and conversation around renewing the full amount of funding to the committee. A motion was made to allocate the full funds of \$5,000 to Lectures and Forums Committee, the motion was seconded. The majority (11) was in favor, 2 opposed, and 3 abstentions and the motion passed.

Item 3: Discussion of final revisions to the Faculty Senate Bylaws. The bylaws were reviewed and approved to be presented the RFS.

- 4. Guest: Dan Berman, Vice Provost for the Undergraduate Studies The FSSC introduced themselves to Dan Berman
 - Oversight of undergraduate studies and general education.

- A discussion of the Russel Conwell Center, and representation of students from underrepresented communities. Referenced the new Cecil B. Moore Scholars Program, and how it addresses the need to engage anti-racist practices. The new program is geared toward recruiting student from eight zip codes adjacent to the campus. <u>https://admissions.temple.edu/academics/programs-high-school-students/cecil-b-moore-scholars-program</u>
- COVID and modes of instruction for the undergraduate students and the collaboration with CAT to help faculty and instructors balance the changes.
- 4. Joe DuCette, Assessment of Instruction Committee, and Gina Calzaferri, Director of Assessment & Evaluation, Office of Institutional Research and Assessment

-Reviewed updated on the SFS process, and updated research on best-practices.

- 1. Reviewed the SFS process and the research innovations, and opportunities for faculty members to add their own prompts. Faculty are encouraged to add their own prompts and questions for a detailed evaluation.
- 2. If there aren't option available in the suggestion bank, there is a committee that will review suggestions for additional items in the bank.

-All Schools and Colleges were asked to submit proposals on how to increase response rates. Innovative ideas emerged related to peer processes to encourage response and creating allocated time within the course for students to complete the feedback surveys. -The Office did an assessment to see if the new survey would impact positive feedback, negatively or positively, and the assessment suggested similar responses. -Reminder that there is support available for all faculty to use the SFS system.

 Vice President's Report: Lisa Ferretti Candidates for approval

 Matt Tincani, (CEHD) for Senate Personnel Committee

The FSSC decided to wait until members who wanted to discuss the candidate were present.

- 6. Old Business None noted.
- 7. New Business None noted.
- Adjournment The meeting was adjourned at 3:04 PM.

Next Meeting: University Faculty Senate November 30, 202

Respectfully submitted,

Ashley Stewart Faculty Senate Secretary