# Faculty Senate Steering Committee - Initial Meeting of the 2023-2024 Academic Year

## September 5, 2023 – 1:00PM/EST

## Conference Room 3B – Conwell Hall 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor

## **Meeting Minutes**

ATTENDANCE: Verified by Cheryl Mack

# Present:

Shohreh Amini (President, CST), Mike Bognanno (Vice President, CLA), Rick Ridall (Secretary, STHM), Rafael Porrata-Doria (Past-Pres., Law), Quaiser Abdullah (KMC), Fauzia Ahmad (COE), Cheri Carter (SSW), Robin Kolodny (CLA), Dale Haines (LKSM), Jason Gallagher (Pharm), Di Liu (CEHD), Sharyn O'Mara-via zoom (TYL), Michael Schirmer (FSBM), Ryan Tierney (CPH),

# Absent:

Nicholas Bizzaro (KSoD), Barry McCarthy (Law), Jeffrey Solow (BCMD), Shinya Watanabe (TUJ)

# Admin:

Cheryl Mack (present)

## Guests:

-Stephanie Laggini Fiore, Assoc. V. Provost, Center for Teaching and Learning -Lori Salem, Asst. V. Provost, University Writing Center

1. Meeting called to order by President Amini at 1:03pm

# 2. Motion:

Request to approve Minutes of April 11, 2023 - Minutes approved by unanimous vote

- 3. President's Report: Shohreh Amini
  - a. Request of individual introductions from everyone in the room at the outset and welcome to new members.
  - b. New University Dean's recognized verbally with our FSSC group
  - c. President Amini introduced our guest, Stephanie Laggini and Lori Salem to begin their presentation. Highlights of presentation include:
    - i. A.I. and the impact it is having throughout the university and specifically with student use and cheating
    - ii. Center for the Advancement of Teaching (CAT) provide A.I. information on their website including training: <u>A Faculty Guide to A.I.</u> | <u>Center for the</u> <u>Advancement of Teaching</u> | <u>Center for the Advancement of Teaching</u> (temple.edu)

- iii. A.I. has dramatically changed since it's inception. CAT provides information on how to best navigate this information
- iv. Chat GPT discussed, good example provided by Jason, and CAT also provides training and support with this
- v. More than 50% of the faculty haven't done anything with A.I. to date
- vi. CAT is providing support on how to discourage student cheating
- vii. CAT providing linking and syllabus verbiage to clearly communicate to students how A.I. can and should be used specific to a course
- viii. Working on ways to make assignments less vulnerable to A.I. cheating
- ix. It will likely be next academic year ('24-'25) before specific and defined policies take hold
- x. In the interim, continuing to gather student experiences with A.I.
- xi. Excellent discussion, examples, and engagement from our group
- d. "Letter on re-invigorating the Faculty Senate" from Mohammed Kiani, Steve Newman, and Eric Borguet – acknowledged and discussed
  - Agreed that the FSSC meeting will review letter (distributed by VP Michael Bognanno), invite Mohammed, Steve, and Eric to the next FSSC meeting on Tuesday, September 19<sup>th</sup>, and they are attending for a portion of your meeting and discussion.
- e. Acknowledgement of letter by Deborah Lemieur, Temple University Adjunct Representative, on list of requests and concerns (distributed by VP Michael Bognanno).
  - Letter to be reviewed by FSSC, discussed during an October meeting, and plan to invite Deborah and additional members of the Adjunct committee to a November FSSC meeting to review and provide feedback on request. Many items we will need to vote on, including request for a specific number of adjuncts to have a voting seat with FSSC.
- f. The Collective Genius (TCG) has been retained and will be conducting sessions for faculty on September 18<sup>th</sup> and 19<sup>th</sup> to solicit feedback in the upcoming Presidential search, participation is encouraged
  - i. Shohreh and Quaiser have been selected as faculty representatives for the upcoming Presidential search (congratulations!:).
  - ii. Search Firm has been selected for the Presidential Search and will be announced soon
- g. Shohreh has requested to Board of Trustee chair Mitch Morgan, that the Faculty Seante President be a voting member of the Board of Trustees. Request pending.
- h. Discussion on invitations for visitation to FSSC future meetings

- i. Arthur Johnson, Vice President, and Director of Athletics (student athlete relationship with faculty
- j. Josh Glavin, VP of Research
- k. Ken Kaiser, SVP and COO
- I. Presidential Search Representatives
- m. Open for suggestions and others to be invited as the year continues
- 4. Vice President Report: Mike Bognanno
  - a. Committee vacancies reviewed and distributed they are on the back page of the agenda.
    - i. All candidates that applied for positions were unanimously voted in (see agenda for specific names and positions)
    - ii. Request to continue to promote and create awareness regarding open positions
    - iii. Need to continue to evaluate ALL university committees to ensure they are active, meeting, and productive!
    - iv. In meeting committee vacancy review with specific request from Cheryl Mack
      - 1. Board of Trustees committee position (concern is there is not inclusion in the meeting)
      - 2. Finance and Investment Committee, Michael Schirmer volunteered
- 5. Old Business: N/A
- 6. New Business: Herald Editor Candidate Stan McDonald, motion to vote (unanimous), motion to approve (unanimously approved)
- 7. Adjournment: Motion to adjourn, motion 2<sup>nd</sup>, and meeting adjourned: 3:01pm/EST
  - a. Next Faculty Senate Steering Committee Meeting: Tuesday, September 19, 2023 at 6:00pm via zoom.

\*Report respectfully recorded, completed, and submitted by Rick Ridall – Thank you ALL!

All candidates	s unanimously a	pproved for 2 <sup>nd</sup>	term appointments to committees:
LAST NAME	FIRST NAME	SCH/COLL	COMMITTEE
Burke	Katey	CEHD	Status of Women Cmte
Culver	Sherri Hope	FSBM	Cmte for International Programs
Doshna	Jeffrey	TYL	Bargaining Units Liaison Cmte
Greenfield	Douglas	CLA	Cmte on Faculty Disabilities Concerns
Hellerslia	Van	PHAR	Cmte for International Programs
Lu	Lu	STHM	University Sabbatical Cmte (Provost cmte)
Patterson	Tim	CEHD	EPPC (completed 2-yr term as Grad Board member)
Rizzo	Laura Katz	BCMD	University Sabbatical Cmte. (Provost cmte)
Jones	Tricia	КМС	University Sabbatical Cmte (Provost cmte)
Wargo	Donald	CLA	Budget Review Cmte
Wasik	Barbara	CEHD	EPPC
Wit	Andrew	TYL	University Sabbatical Cmte (Provost cmte)
Yannaccone	Andrew	СРН	Budget Review Cmte
All candidates	s approved for 1	. <sup>st</sup> term appointn	nent to committees
LAST NAME	FIRST NAME	SCH/COLL	COMMITTEE
Cloutier	Marissa	СРН	Faculty Herald Advisory Board
Gardner	Ashley	STHM	Cmte on Status of Faculty of Color
Shuman	Robert	TYL	Budget Review Cmte
Volunteers for	Standing Commi	ttees of the Board	I non-voting faculty advisory members.
Academic Affairs, Student Success, and Diversity Committee			Shohreh Amini (CST), Senate President
Finance and In	vestment Commi	ttee	Mike Bognanno (CLA), Senate V. President Michael Schirmer (FSB)
External Affairs	s and Developme	nt Committee	Robin Kolodny (CLA) Di Liu (CEHD)
Executive Committee			Shohreh Amini (CST), Senate President