# Faculty Senate Steering Committee Meeting Tuesday, October 17, 2023 – 6:00 pm via Zoom

#### Minutes

#### Attendance:

**Present:** Shohreh Amini (President, CST), Mike Bognanno (Vice President, CLA), Rafael Porrata-Doria (Past-President, Law), Quaiser Abdullah (KMC), Fauzia Ahmad (COE), Jason Gallagher (Pharm), Robin Kolodny (CLA), Barry McCarthy (Law), Michael Schirmer (FSBM), Ryan Tierney (CPH), Shinya Watanabe (TUJ)

**Absent**: Nicholas Bizzaro (KSoD), Cheri Carter (SSW), Dale Haines (LKSM), Di Liu (CEHD), Stan McDonald (Fac. Herald), Matthew Miller (TFMA), Sharyn O'Mara (TYL), Rick Ridall (Secretary), STHM), Jeffrey Solow (BCMD)

Admin: Cheryl Mack

**Guests:** Steve Newman, Miriam Solomon, Eric Borguet (7:00pm)

#### Call to Order

Meeting called to order at 6:05 pm

**Approval of Minutes:** October 3, 2023

Questions and suggestions for minutes. Decision to table minutes until next meeting.

# President's Report:

- Trying to schedule a special meeting with Mitch Morgan on Wednesday, October 25<sup>th</sup> at 1:45 pm. TUJ faculty will be exempt from the special meeting due to the time difference
- Ongoing discussion of possibility of faculty member to be a voting member on the Board of Trustees. Discussion will continue
- Other board advisory committee meetings that faculty are not part of the discussion or are called in late to the meetings. Amini will follow up
- Also issue with research office. There will be responses from the research office
- Attended Leadership dinner with deans and the board
- Need volunteers for Faculty Service Awards Nomination Committee: Dale Haines, Shohreh Amini, Di Liu and Jason Gallagher. All of the work is done online during the spring 2024 semester.

#### **Vice President Report**

Candidates for Senate Committees: Motion to approve and seconded. All candidates unanimously approved for committee appointments.

- Eleni Anni (CST) Student Awards Selection Cmte.
- Bradley J. Baker (STHM) Lectures and Forums
- Cheri Carter (CPH) Faculty Herald Advisory Board (2nd term)

- Dominic Letarte (CST) Assessment of Instruction Cmte.
- Cindy Li (CST) Library Cmte. or GEEC (GEEC positions filled)
- Michael Sances (CLA) Library Cmte.
- Wendy Thompson (CLA) Lectures and Forums
- Elvis Wagner (CEHD) Library Cmte.
- Petra Goedde (CLA) Lectures and Forums
- List of Senate committee vacancies (attached)
- University Sabbatical committee vacancy for an NTT. Should NTT have research background? Not in TAUP language so any NTT may serve.
- Maybe should add BULC and Faculty Handbook committee on agenda for discussion.
- Background on Faculty Handbook Committee: University Counsel and Provost said there are a number of things in the handbook which are obsolete and need revision. Suggestion to repopulate the committee, especially for the Health Sciences.

#### Guests

Introductions and thanks for having group at the meeting.

In-depth discussion of the issues addressed in the letter followed.

Many of the issues outlined in the letter have already been or are currently being addressed by the FSSC.

The FSSC will draft a formal response to the letter and forward to Newman, et. al. In the meantime, encourage faculty to get involved with the Senate; attend the meetings and voice concerns.

## **Old Business**

None

## **New Business**

- Question: How does representative senators coordinate discussion prior to RFS/UFS meetings?
- Few reports at collegial assemblies
- Suggestion: Send out list of representatives' attendance.

# **Adjournment**

Meeting adjourned at 7:57 pm.

#### **Next Meetings:**

- FSSC, Tuesday, October 31, 2023 1:00 pm, 3B Conwell Hall
- Representative Faculty Senate, Thursday, November 9, 2023 6:00 pm

Submitted by

Cheryl Mack, Admin. Coord.

FACULTY SENATE COMMITTEE VACANCIES AS OF OCTOBER 12, 2023	
	VACANCIES
Assessment of Instruction Committee	
Select from any except: CPH, PHARM, CLA, or STHM	3
Bargaining Units Liaison Committee	
FS- 2; TAUP- 1; Law- 1; LKSM- 1	5
Committee on Administrative and Trustee Appointments	1
Committee on the Status of Faculty of Color	3
Educational Programs and Policies Committee (EPPC) ELECTED	
At least six schools/colleges represented on committee. Largest School/College should have two faculty. No more than two faculty from each school/college may serve at any time.  Select from any except: CEHD, CLA, CST, LKSM	1
Faculty Herald Advisory Board	2
Lectures and Forums Committee	5
Library Committee	4
Research Programs and Policies Committee	
	3 (elected side)
Standing Committee on the Continuous Revision of Faculty Handbook	
2- bargaining; 3- non bargaining	5
Student Awards Selection Committee (Provost Committee)	1
University Sabbatical Committee (Provost Committee)	1
Must be NTT faculty. Select from any sch/coll EXCEPT: CLA, KMC, STHM, BCMD, TYL	

If you are interested in serving on any of these committees, please send a brief statement of interest and bio link to <a href="mailto:senate2@temple.edu">senate2@temple.edu</a>