Senate Lectures and Forums Committee End of year committee report – AY 2021-22

Committee members:

- Quaiser Abdullah, COE, 1-6808, quaiser.abdullah@temple.edu, '24
- John Allgood, STHM, 1-4503, john.allgood@temple.edu, '22
- Nathan Buonviri, BCMD, 1-8328, nathan.buonviri@temple.edu, '22**
- Kathryn Fritz, CPH, kathryn.fritz@temple.edu, '23
- Sharyn O'Mara, TSAA, 8-9168, sharyn.omara@temple.edu, '24
- Daniela Proca, LKSM, 2-4812, <u>daniela.proca@temple.edu</u>, '24

The lectures and forums committee welcomed one new member this year—Daniela Proca. The budget we received was \$7,500, up by \$2500 from last year. We sincerely appreciate the decision of the Faculty Senate to increase our budget this year as it allows us to support the excellent programming put on by the faculty.

This year we issued a call for proposals centered around a particular theme, following what was done last spring. This year's theme was, "Enriching Campus Culture and Life through Equity-Centered Teaching, Learning, and Justice." We believe that this pivot makes sense as it provides clear direction for faculty proposals and falls within our committee's charge to set an annual theme for programs. Given the many challenges and extra time demands faced by members of the Temple community, we also streamlined our application process using an Outlook Form that requested the name of the Temple faculty member, proposal title, whether the faculty member had receive funding from the Lectures and Forum Committee in the past, and proposal document. The committee used a rubric to evaluate the proposals which evaluated the proposals on: Innovation and Creativity, Project Description, Alignment with the Theme, Potential to impact Temple Community, Potential to impact Philadelphia Community, and budget. Each proposal received a score out of 60 and if funding was recommended or not recommended.

One area for the committee and Faculty Senate steering committee to consider going forward is the best way for the committee to help publicize funded events. In addition to updating the Steering Committee about funded events, some other options to consider might be coordinating access to the university calendar so that funded events could be advertised there or having information on funded events available on the committee webpage.

There are two members rotating off the committee after this year: John Allgood and Nathan Buonviri. I would like to thank each of them for their service to the committee and the university.

Kathryn (Katie) Fritz, Chair, College of Public Health.

Proposer	Lecturer	Award
Spring 2022		
Elvis Wagner, College of Education and Human Development	Jenny Leeman	500.00
Peter d'Agostino, School of Theater, Film, and Media Arts	Robert Atkins	500.00
Amml Hussein, College of Public Health	Lindsey Vincent Anterior Hinton Jay Starnes	500.00
Kate Fialkowski, College of Education and Human Development ¹	Dennis Downey Betina Judd Pancho Timmons Pam Block Stephanie Ban Kenny Fries Dustin Gibson Katherine Ott Michael Kalmback Jen White	5000.00

¹Note this event received more funding because it included 10 speakers.