Faculty Senate Personnel Committee Report 2023-24

Personnel Committee Members 2023-24

The terms of all members of the committee expire on June 30, 2024

Co-chairs:

- Finbarr McCarthy, Associate Professor Beasley School of Law
- Jim Shellenberger, Professor, Beasley School of Law

Members:

- **Susan B. Dickey**, Associate Professor Department of Nursing College of Public Health.
 - Retired at the end of the fall-2023 semester
- Sharyn O'Mara, Associate Professor, Tyler School of Art and Architecture: Art
- Vallorie Peridier, Associate Professor Emeritus, College of Engineering: Mechanical Engineering.
 - Retired at the end of the fall-2023 semester
- Magid Abou-Gharbia, Professor Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences Appointed to fill vacancy created when Susan Dickey retired at the end of the fall-2023 semester.
- Andrew Spence, Associate Professor, College of Engineering: Bioengineering Appointed to fill vacancy created when Vallorie Peridier retired at the end of the fall-2023 semester.

The five-person personnel committee has a new chairperson in 2023-24 as its longtime chairperson Professor Mark Rahdert from the Law School retired in June 2023.

Because Professor Finbarr McCarthy who succeeded Professor Rahdert was teaching in Tokyo in 2023-24, the Faculty Senate Steering Committee (FSSC) appointed Professor Jim Shellenberger from the Law School as co-chairperson.

Professors Susan Dickey and Vallorie Peridier retired from the university and the committee at the end of the fall-2023 semester. In the fall, the FSSC appointed Professor Magid Abou-Gharbia to replace Professor Dickey. It agreed that both Professors Dickey and Abou-Gharbia should serve in the fall-2023 semester.

In the spring-2024 semester, the FSSC appointed Professor Andrew Spence to replace Professor Peridier. It chose Professor Spence over Professor Carlos Barrero from the School of Pharmacy as the committee already had one member, Professor Abou-Gharbia, from that school.

Issues Addressed by the Committee

The personnel committee currently has five research misconduct matters before it. Three further matters were resolved during the year.

The committee appointed eight subcommittees to investigate allegations of misconduct.

- For seven of those subcommittees, Allen Nicholson, the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, College of Science & Technology served as chairperson.
- For the eight, Professor Michael Leeds, Professor, College of Liberal Arts: Economics, was chairperson.

Faculty members who are serving or who have served on at least one of the subcommittees:

- **Peter Doukas**, Retired, Former Dean School of Pharmacy Alternate on five subcommittees
- **Tania Giovannetti**, Professor, College of Liberal Arts: Psychology and Neuroscience
 - Member of two subcommittees and alternate on two other subcommittees
- Mohammad Kiani, Professor, College of Engineering: Mechanical Engineering Member of three subcommittees
- Robin Kolodny, College of Liberal Arts: Political Science Member of one subcommittee
- Michael Leeds, Professor, College of Liberal Arts: Economics Chair of one subcommittee
- **Peter Lelkes**, Laura H. Carnell Professor College of Engineering: Bioengineering Member of three subcommittees
- **Glenn Rall**, Professor and Chief Academic Officer, Fox Chase Cancer Center Member of three subcommittees
- Thomas Rogers, Professor, Lewis Katz School of Medicine, Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Inflammation Member of four subcommittees
- **David Sarwer**, Senior Associate Dean for Research and Strategic Partnerships, College of Public Health
 - Member of two subcommittees
- Marsha Weinraub, Professor Emerita, Psychology and Neuroscience
 Member of one subcommittee

The committee met numerous times, particularly in the fall-2023 semester, to read reports and to address matters that arose during the investigations.

As Co-chair, Professor McCarthy communicated frequently with Josh Gladden, Vice President for Research: Office of Executive Leadership Education, and with the University Counsel's Office.

Personnel Committee 2024-25

In the spring-2024 faculty senate elections, Finbarr McCarthy, Andrew Spence, and Magid Abou-Gharbia were elected to the Personnel Committee.

Because the committee is short 2 members, it has not yet elected a chair for the 2024-25 academic year.

Action Required

The FSSC should appoint two members to the committee

Finbarr McCarthy Co-chair Personnel Committee 2023-24