# Report from EPPC 2018-2019

## Mary Anne Gaffney, Committee Chair

### Committee Members:

Shohreh Amini, CST, 1-0604, <u>shohreh.amini@temple.edu</u>, '20 Wanda Brooks, COE, 1-3344, <u>wanda.brooks@temple.edu</u>, '20 Boris Datskovsky, CST, 1-7847, <u>Boris.Datskovsky@temple.edu</u>, '19 Seema Freer, CST, 1-8842, <u>seema.freer@temple.edu</u>, '21 Mary Anne Gaffney, FSB, 1-8129, <u>mary.gaffney@temple.edu</u>, '20 Michael L. Sachs (Past-Pres), CPH, 1-8718, <u>michael.sachs@temple.edu</u>, '19 Barbara Manaka, FSB, 1-8456, <u>barbara.manaka@temple.edu</u>, '20 Robin Mitchell-Boyask, CLA, 1-3672, <u>robin.mitchell-boyask@temple.edu</u>, '19 Pamela Shapiro, CLA, 1-7310, <u>pamela.shapiro0001@temple.edu</u>, '21

### Administration:

Daniel Berman, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies 1-6042, <u>daniel.berman@temple.edu</u>

Michele O'Connor, Assc. V. Provost, Undergraduate Studies 1-0550, <u>michele.oconnor@temple.edu</u>

Bhavesh Bambhrolia, University Registrar 1-1224, <u>bhavesh.bambhrolia@temple.edu</u>

#### Deans:

Susan Cahan, Tyler School of Art, 8-9188, <u>susan.cahan@temple.edu</u> Richard Deeg, College of Liberal Arts, 1-7747, <u>richard.deeg@temple.edu</u>

### Student members:

Temple Student Government: Lyndon Wing Honors Program: Ben Burch

The only changes for next year are that Boris Datskovsky was reelected to a new term and Mary Anne Gaffney is stepping down because she is entering the transition to retirement program. Students typically only serve for one year so new students may be picked in the fall. Ben Burch would like to continue next year.

2. Structural changes to the committee (e.g., creation of new subcommittees): None

3. Number and frequency of meetings: The first meeting of the year did not occur until December, the committee chair in the year before had not called many meetings and a chair had not been selected for 2018-2019. In December, with prompting from committee members, Dan Berman called a meeting in an effort to revitalize the committee. Mary Anne Gaffney was elected chair and we met every three weeks during the spring semester. The total number of meetings for the year was six. Approved minutes from 5 of these meetings are attached. The last meeting was yesterday, and I will forward those minutes soon as I receive them.

# 4. Issues addressed by the committee:

As you can see from the minutes the committee reviewed several university policies which were being revised, and we also brought in several guest speakers to discuss topics related to the undergraduate program. We also drew up a list of reports which the committee would like to see on an annual basis.

5. Decisions or actions taken on issues: In general, we provided comments to Dan and Michele on policy revisions, we normally did not vote on issues. At the April meeting Lori Salem asked us to approve some minor revisions to the Recertification Process for Writing Intensive Courses, which we did.

6. Name/contact info of chair for 2019-20 academic year. The chair for next year, Wanda Brooks, (email above), was elected at the May 6 meeting. In addition, Barbara Manaka has agreed to be the EPPC's liaison to GEEC for next year.