Faculty Senate Steering Committee Meeting Tuesday, March 11, 2025, 6:00 pm

Zoom: https://temple.zoom.us/j/95062901236

MINUTES

Present: Present: Shohreh Amini (President, CST), Mike Bognanno (Vice President, CLA), Robin Kolodny (Secretary), Fauzia Ahmad (COE), Renee Fennell (KSoD), Lisa Ferretti (SSW), Jason Gallagher (Pharm), Di Liu (CEHD), Lu Lu (STHM), Barry McCarthy (Law), Sabrina Minhas (TSPM), Deborah Racano (KMC), Michael Schirmer (FSB), Jeffrey Solow (BCMD) Ryan Tierney (CPH)

Absent: James D. Brown (TUJ)-excused, Rafael Porrata-Doria (Past-President, Law), Dale Haines (LKSM), Stan McDonald (CLA, Fac. Herald), Jason Norris (TFMA), Sharyn O'Mara (TYL)

Admin: Cheryl Mack

- 1. Call to Order Meeting was called to order 6:04 p.m.
- 2. Approval of Minutes: February 18 and February 4(?), 2025 Can't pass February FSSC minutes until they are corrected.
- 3. Guest: Jodi Bailey Accavallo, Vice President for Student Affairs (6:00-7:00 pm) She is here to discuss student success initiatives. Posted the Division of Student Affairs Organizational Chart.

We are now using EAB – Education Advisory Board – (with Jose Aviles) – programs based on incoming students' skills and needs using predictive analytics. Working with other donors and outside organizations to expand wrap-around student services. About 34% of our students are food or housing insecure.

4. President's Report: Shohreh Amini

President Fry had a good visit to Harrisburg to lobby for Temple's state appropriations.

We may be giving the Faculty Service Awards at the University Senate Meeting on April 17.

The RCM task force requested names from the President to serve on the committee. We can use more names from colleges other than (not): FOX, Law, CLA, Ed, CST, Engineering, Tyler. People suggested should agree that they will serve if you nominate them.

5. Vice President's Report: Mike Bognanno

As a member of the RCM task force, reported that there will not be a new budget model by July 1. President Fry has said everything is on the table. Outside consultants will end up driving a lot of the process.

Candidates for senate committees were confirmed or deferred as detailed in the table below:

Senate Committee candidates for review/approval

CANDIDATES TO SERVE A 2 ND	TERM ON COMMITTEES		
			Approved (Y/N)
Eric Borguet, CST	Committee for International Programs		Yes
Heather Burkett, CPH	Student Awards Selection Committee		Yes
Cleaver Christine, STHM	Committee on Faculty Disabilities Concerns		Yes
Lisa Ferretti, SSW	Committee on Faculty Disabilities Concerns		Yes
Kathryn Fritz, CPH	Student Awards Selection Committee		Yes
Thilo Kunkel, STHM	Committee for International Programs		Yes
Lindsey Lee, STHM	Committee on Administrative and Trustee Appts		Yes
Dominic Letarte, CST	Assessment of Instruction Committee		Yes
Mishchuk Olena, CST	Faculty Senate Status of Women Committee		Yes
Uloma Opara Osuoha, CST	Committee on the Status of Faculty of Color		Yes
Andrew Wit, TYL	Committee On Administrative and Trustee Appts		Yes
Jingwei Wu, CPH	Committee For International Programs		Yes
Laurie Wu, STHM	Committee On Administrative and Trustee Appointments		Yes
CANDIDATES INTERESTED IN	SERVING ON SENATE COMMITTEES		
			Approved Y/N
Daniele Ramella, CST	International Programs or LGBTQIA Issues	Materials attached	Yes
Brian Tuohy, LKSM	International Programs & Student Awards Selection Cmte.	Materials attached	Yes for Student Awards only
Laura Johnson, SSW	Status of Women Cmte	Materials attached	NO – suggest other committee
Jacqueline Giovanniello, LKSM	Status of Women Cmte	Materials attached	NO – suggest other committee

6. Old Business

Sabrina Minhas (Podiatry) announced that the Faculty Senate Status of Women committee event will be on Thursday March 27th 11AM -1 PM.

7. New Business

8. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned 7:30 PM

Next Meetings:

- Representative Faculty Senate, Wednesday, March 19th, 6:00 pm, Jennifer Griffin, Public Safety
- FSSC, Tuesday, March 25th,1:00 pm. 3B Conwell Hall (hybrid)

Respectfully submitted,

Robin Kolodny Faculty Senate Secretary