Chair

Joseph P. DuCette

Members

Dan Berman, UG Studies, 1-6042, berman@temple.edu

Ina L. Calligaro, PHAR, 2-4967, calligaro@temple.edu

Gina Calzaferri, IRA, 1-8277, gina.calzaferri@temple.edu

Kevin Delaney, VPFA, 1-3745, kevin.delaney@temple.edu

Joseph P. DuCette, (Chr.) COE, 1-4998 jducette@temple.edu

Eric Eisenstein, FSB, 1-7039, eisenstein@temple.edu, '21

Stephanie Fiore, CAT, 1-8761, stephanie.fiore@temple.edu

Steven Fleming, CST, sfleming@temple.edu

Nicholas Goodyear, Student Rep., nick.james.goodyear@temple.edu, '19

Zebulon Kendrick, Grad Sch., 1-8526, zebulon.kendrick@temple.edu

Matthew Miller, TFMA, 1-4263, matthew.miller0005@temple.edu, '21

Bernie S. Newman, SSW, 1-1205, bnewman@temple.edu

Moritz Ritter, CLA, 1-5029, moritz.ritter@temple.edu, '21

Wesley Roehl, STHM, 1-5861, wesley.roehl@temple.edu, '21

Daniel Spaeth, CST, 1-6772, spaceman@temple.edu

Karen M. Turner, KMC, 1-8386, kturner@temple.edu, '21

Kimmika Williams-Witherspoon, TFMA, 1-8417, kwilli01@temple.edu, '21

(Updated May 17, 2019)

Charge

The Assessment of Instruction Committee, previously the Student Feedback Form Committee, is a joint faculty, staff, and student committee charged with advising the President, Provost, and Faculty Senate on matters related to the evaluation of teaching at the University. The committee takes a deliberative, evidence-based, and (where possible) data driven approach to make recommendations regarding the policy on course and teaching evaluations (http://policies.temple.edu/getdoc.asp?policy_no=02.78.14), methods, approaches, reports, and logistics related to the assessment and evaluation of teaching at the University.

Membership

Faculty committee members are appointed by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. Staff members are appointed by the Provost. Any student representative(s) are appointed by the committee.

Workload

The committee generally meets quarterly in full session--or more frequently, as needed. The working groups or subcommittees may meet more often.

Recent Accomplishments

Guided the development and implementation of SFF Data for Students, a tool for students to review selected information about course and instructor feedback.
Revised the SFF Instructor Form, removing all prior questions and adding the following open ended question: Is there anything about the course (the context, the way you decided to teach it, the students, etc.) that would help in understanding the SFFs.

In the process of redeveloping the current SFFs to reduce the number of questions answered university-wide, and to add a bank of questions from which schools/colleges, departments, other units (such as: campus, General Education, Honors), and instructors can select relevant items to add to their forms.

(revised spring 2019)