Dustin Kidd


Patricia Moore-Martinez


Gangadhar Andaluri, COE, 1-4667,, 2026**

Kate Benisek, TYL, 8-8186,, 2024**

William Cook, KMC, 1-2440,, 2026

Michael Hagen, CLA, 1-7796,, 2024** (5th year)

Michelle Histand, FSB,, 2025

Matthew Newby, CST,, 2025

Natasha Rossi, CLA,, 2025

Helen Shoemark, BCMD, 1-8311,, 2024 (1-yr replacement appt., 3rd year)

Lori Shorr, CEHD,, 2026**

Sean Yom, CLA, 1-1163, 2025

Jennifer Zarro (TYL), 8-9090,, 2026 (as of July 1, 2024)

EPPC representative- to be named.

Dustin Kidd, Director,

Patricia Moore-Martinez, Associate Director, 

Ex-Officio Members:

Keesa Bond (Advising),

Neal Conley (Advising),

Heath Davis, (Intellectual Heritage),

Rachel Groner (ex-officio, First-Year Writing rep)

 Lori Salem, (ex-officio, Writing Center),

Caitlin Shanley, (ex-officio, Paley Library rep),

Student Representatives:

Molly Kennelly,, , TSG undergrad rep

Shane Nelson,, Graduate Student

Asia Ng,, Honors

**= serving 2nd consecutive term

***= serving 3rd consecutive term


(Updated March 27, 2024)



  • To coordinate broadly the work of the general education program;
  • To define and refine, with Provost approval, the intellectual criteria within each general education area;
  • To oversee the periodic fifth-year reviews of approved general education courses to determine whether they continue to meet general education criteria and whether they are effectively carrying out the purposes of general education;
  • To conduct such other studies and recommend such changes in policy as may be necessary to maintain the purposes and vibrancy of the general education program;
  • To participate in the generation and review of new courses for the program;
  • To evaluate and made decisions regarding waiver requests; and to provide regular reports to the Faculty Senate.



The General Education Executive Committee will be chaired by the university's chief academic officer or his/her designee. The chairperson of the Faculty Senate's Educational Programs and Policies Committee or his/her designee shall be ex officio and one of the nine faculty members. The remaining eight faculty members will be nominated by the Faculty Senate from among faculty experienced in the general education program and broadly drawn from those colleges offering courses as part of the general education program. Not more than two faculty members of the committee shall be from the same college or school. The chief academic officer of the university shall accept the Faculty Senate's nominees to the General Education Executive Committee unless he/she has substantive objection that will be discussed with the Steering Committee of the Faculty Senate, in which case the senate shall nominate other persons to be considered by the chief academic officer.

Faculty members of the General Education Executive Committee shall serve two-year staggered terms and may be reappointed to a second term, but after serving a second term shall not again be eligible to serve on the committee for a period of four years.

One student member of the committee shall be nominated by the Temple Student Government, a second shall be an honors student selected by the director(s) of the Honors Program, and the third shall be a graduate student who is teaching a course or section in the general education program and shall be appointed by the Graduate Dean after consultation with the Graduate Board. The student members will be nominated for one-year terms and may not serve a total of more than two years on the committee, including possible membership as first an undergraduate and later as a graduate student.

The General Education Executive Committee has the discretion to add ex officio members such as the Director of the Teaching and Learning Center, a representative of the library, an advisor, and others whose functions are closely linked to the success of the general education program.


(Temple University Policy Number 02.10.03, Page 6-7, The General Education Executive Committee)



The committee meets twice a month.