Chair

- TBN(Humanities and the Arts)
- TBN (Sciences, Life Sciences and Engineering)
- TBN (Social Sciences, Business and Law)

Members

Committee A (Humanities and the Arts)

Selected by the Senate:

Helen Shoemark, BCMD, 1-8311, helen.shoemark@temple.edu, 2024

Scott Laserow, TYL, 8-2869, scott.laserow@temple.edu, 2025**

Jeffrey Solow, BCMD,  1-8025, jeffrey.solow@temple.edu, 2023

 

Selected by the Provost:
Linn Washington, KMC, linn.washington@temple.edu
Douglas Duckworth, CLA, duckworth@temple.edu
Montserrat Piera, CLA, montserrat.piera@temple.edu

Committee B (Sciences, Life Sciences and Engineering)

Selected by the Senate:

Yugang Sun, CST, 1-4327, yugang.sun@temple.edu, 2024

Jamie Reilly, CPH, 1-3995, jamie.reilly@temple.edu, 2024**

Ho-Lun Wong, Pharm., 2-8173, ho-lun.wong@temple.edu, 2024**

Selected by the Provost:

Michel Lemay, ENG, michel.lemay@temple.edu

Mike McCloskey, CLA, mikemccloskey@temple.edu

Lora Toran, CST, laura.toran@temple.edu

Committee C (Social Sciences, Business and Law)

Selected by the Senate

Joseph DuCette, CEHD, 1-4998, joseph.ducette@temple.edu, 2023** (reappt. for 1 year)

Chantelle Nobile Hart, 2-8639, chantelle.hart@temple.edu, 2024

R. Lance Holbert, KMC, 1-3152. r.lance.holbert@temple.edu, 2023

 

Selected by the Provost:
Munir Mandviwalla, FSB, munir.mandviwalla@temple.edu

Wanda Brooks, CEHD, wanda.brooks@temple.edu

David Nickerson, CLA, david.nickerson@temple.edu

Jennifer Wood, CLA, jennifer.wood@temple.edu

(** serving second term)

(Updated September 12, 2022)

Under the revised TAUP language, the University Tenure and Promotion Advisory Committee (UTPAC) will consist of three distinct committees: Committee A, Humanities and the Arts; Committee B, Sciences, Life Sciences and Engineering; and Committee C, Social Sciences, Business and Law. No committee can have more than two representatives from a single College. Faculty in the Beasley School of Law may only serve on Committee C.
 

Composition

The University Tenure and Promotion Advisory Committee shall report to the Provost or other designated University officer, and shall be composed of at least sixteen (16) members, as follows: Half shall be faculty members from the TAUP bargaining unit selected by the Faculty Senate; the remaining members shall be faculty members from the TAUP bargaining unit selected by the Provost, except that in the Provost's discretion up to two may be administrators with faculty rank. Committee votes will be conducted by secret ballot. Individuals serving on the University Tenure and Promotion Advisory Committee shall serve two (2) year terms, with a staggered rotation to assure that half of such members continue on the Advisory Committee each year. No more than two (2) faculty members from any one department, college or school may serve at any one time.

Committee membership shall be increased by an additional two (2) members if one additional non-bargaining unit college or school comes within the jurisdiction of the Committee. One of these faculty members will be selected by the Faculty Senate, the other will be selected by the Provost. No further members shall be added, however, if more than one additional college or school comes within the jurisdiction of the Committee. Committee membership shall be limited to no more than eighteen (18) members.

Eligibility to Serve

Only individuals holding the rank of Professor at Temple may serve as Faculty Senate representatives on the University Tenure and Promotion Advisory Committee or participate in committee deliberations regarding the promotion of a faculty member to the rank of Professor. Individuals being considered for promotion are ineligible to participate in deliberations regarding promotions in the year in which their candidacy is being considered.