Chair

Seema Freer

Members

 Melissa Auerbach, CLA, 1-2727, melissa.auerbach@temple.edu, '24

Wanda Brooks, Chr., COE, 1-3344, wanda.brooks@temple.edu, '23**

Boris Datskovsky, CST, 1-7847, boris.datskovsky@temple.edu, '22**

Seema Freer, (Chr.) CST, 1-8842, seema.freer@temple.edu, '24**

Amy Giddings, STHM, 1-3022, amy.giddings@temple.edu, '22

Barbara Manaka, FSB, 1-8456, barbara.manaka@temple.edu, '23**

Steve Newman, CLA, 1-7461, steven.newman@temple.edu, '22

Pamela Shapiro, CLA, 1-7310, pamela.shapiro0001@temple.edu, '21

Barbara Wasik, CEHD, 1-4982, barbara.wasik@temple.edu, '23

(Updated April 16, 2021)

Senate Past-President, TBN

 

** - serving 2nd consecutive term

*** - serving 3rd consecutive term

 

Administration:

 

Daniel Berman, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies

1-6042, daniel.berman@temple.edu

 

Michele O'Connor, Assc. V. Provost, Undergraduate Studies

1-0550, michele.oconnor@temple.edu

 

Bhavesh Bambhrolia, University Registrar

1-1224, bhavesh.bambhrolia@temple.edu

 

Deans:

Student members:

TBN - Temple Student Government

TBN - Honors Program

 

 

 

Charge

All academic matters affecting more than one college, whether they originate from administration, faculty or the student senate, shall be referred to this committee. The Faculty Senate Education Programs and Policies Committee may consult with the Student Senate and the Student Senate may petition for such consultation.

(New language to EPPC charge approved by FSSC  April 6, 2021)

 

Composition

The Educational Programs and Policies Committee of the Faculty Senate shall be composed as follows:

a. Nine faculty members representing at least six schools and colleges to be elected by the University Faculty Senate through electronic ballot every year. From among the nine elected faculty members, the largest college shall at all times have two representatives and the second largest college shall at all times have at least one. No professional school (Law, Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy and Podiatry) may have more than one representative: no other school may have more than two. The manner of designating the candidates shall be determined by their respective Collegial Assemblies.

b. The Provost’s designee

c. Three Deans chosen by the Council of Deans

d. The Chair of the General Education Executive Committee

e. A faculty member designated by the Graduate Board

f. Two representative student senators selected by the students from the membership of the Representative Student’s Educational Programs and Policies Committee. These students shall have full voting membership on the Faculty Senate Committee. Their terms of office shall be determined by the Representative Student Senate.

The faculty members and Deans shall serve three years except in the first selection under this plan, when they shall be selected for one, two, or three-year terms to stagger their period of service to provide for continuity of operation.

All proposals for change in academic programs and procedures affecting more than one college, (Faculty Senate Bylaws – September 16, 2019) whether they originate from administration, faculties, or the Student Senate shall be referred to this Committee.

The Faculty Senate Educational Programs and Policies Committee may consult with the Student Senate, and the Student Senate may petition for such consultation.

 Because of the burden of work, the Chair of the Educational Programs and Policies Committee shall be entitled to release time if requested.